Displaying 1 - 20 of 214
Soter Christ Metamorphosis in Sotira

It is built next to the old church of the Transfiguration. It has a byzantine style and was built by the need for a larger church that would meet the needs of the community of Sotira, which over the years grew in population . The work of reconstruction began in early 1939 , while in 1955 it was inaugurated by Archbishop Makarios III. After 40 years, new work began , which was completed in 1996...

Church of Agios Nikolas in Alassa

A special kind of church is in Alassa in Limassol Region. The church is dedicated to Agios Nicolaos and was built on 1936. The speciality of this church is that is submerged in the waters of Kourris lake. It’s visible only few times a year when the level of the lake is low. When the Kourris reservoir overflows, the only thing visible of the church is its belfry, which creates a unique and...

Saint Nicholas in Larnaca

Saint Nicholas church in Larnaca, is a modern architecture building with an impressive bell tower. At the square opposite the church, there is Christakis Ptochopoulou bust, who died at Tillirias battle in 1964.

Saint Nicholas was born in 270AD in Patara Lykias and was raised by a rich and well-known family. He was very close to God since a child. He started as a priest and then was the...

Άγιος Χαράλαμπος στον Κάτω Δρυ

Saint Charalambos church, is the main church in Kato Drys and was built in 1897.  It is a church with a single aisle and a v-shaped roof and it is not too big

Inside there is a wooden carved altarpiece. Also, they are icons of Virgin Maria, Jesus and John the Baptist which were transferred from the he old Byzantines church. The icon dedicated to Saint Charalampos got burned and, so,...


Saint Georgios church is the main church of Xylofagou. Saint Georgios is a modern church built in a royal rhythm with a dome. The construction of the church started in 1980 and completed in 1993. There is a small, older church beside the big one, which was built in the beginning of 16th century also dedicated to Saint Georgios.

Around the churches there is also a monument dedicated to...

Saint Minas in Neo Chorio

In the centre of Neo Chorio village, in Paphos Region, there is the Saint Minas church which is the main church of the community. It is a single chamber church built with Gothic style. The artfully decorated bell chamber was added afterwards.

In the inside the wood carved iconostasis stands out. The walls of the entire temple are covered with religious images. The prominent image of...

Saints Kirikos and Iouliti in Letymbou

The ancient church of Saint Kyrikos and Ioulitis is a sight to see in Letymbou. The church which is in the southeast edge of the community, dates to the 12th century but many renovations occurred later on and especially during the 15th century. It’s a church made of stone built with Byzantine style with a dome. It has two entrances, one on the north wall and one on the west.

What stands...


Archangel Michael is in the community centre of Oroklini and it is the main temple of the community. The construction of the church began on 1984 and finished two year later. Its built using the Byzantine style architecture (crossed with a dome).

On the inside of the church the wooden carved icosnostasis made of oak tree really stands out.

An older Archangel Michael church is...

Panagia Chryseleousis in Strovolos

Panagias Chryseleousis church was built over the remains of the older church dated at around 12 to 13 Century. Based on the inscription on the north side of the temple, the temple was built around 1756-1821 from Archbishop Kypros Kyprianou. After the martyrdom of Archbishop Kyprianou, the church suffered looting from the Turks. On the reign of Archbishop Cyrillos the 1st the church was rebuilt...


Η εκκλησία του Αρχαγγέλου Μιχαήλ, αποτελεί τη δεύτερη μεγαλύτερη εκκλησία της κοινότητας της Βάβλας και βρίσκεται στην είσοδο του χωριού. Αποτελεί μια απλή, μονόκλιτη πετρόκτιστη εκκλησία.

Στο εσωτερικό της εκκλησίας κοσμούσε ένα παλαιό τέμπλο, το οποίο δυστυχώς με την πάροδο του χρόνου έχει καταστραφεί. Πλέον το τέμπλο έχει αντικατασταθεί με καινούριο και όσα κομμάτια διασώθηκαν από το...


The main church of the village is dedicated to "Panagia Chryseleousa". It was constructed around the end of the 15th or in the beginning of the 16th century and it belongs to the -so called -Frank-Byzantine rhythm, which combines Byzantine and Gothic elements, a dome and arches. The architecture of the church symbolizes an older, Byzantine type with a single-aisle and the north and...


The need to rebuild a spacious magnificent Byzantine church, which would cover the religious needs of the community and will mainly serve two refugee camps in the region , led to the rebuilding of this temple. The church , with financial contributions and the Archdiocese , was completed in 1996 , after three and a half years of work . Today , along with the new church of the Transfiguration ,...

Panagia Eleousa ston Agro

Ο ναός της Παναγίας της Ελεούσας είναι ιδιαίτερα σημαντικός για την κοινότητα του Αγρού όχι μόνο επειδή είναι αποτέλεσμα της συντονισμένης προσπάθειας και των εργασιών των κατοίκων του χωριού αλλά είναι άρρηκτα συνδεδεμένος και με την ιστορία ίδρυσης του οικισμού.

Ευρισκόμενος στο κέντρο του χωριού ο ναός οικοδομήθηκε το 1909 στα κατάλοιπα ενός παλαιότερου ναού που αποτελούσε μέρος του...

Panagia in koilani

Η εκκλησία της Παναγίας Ελεούσας στο Κοιλάνι βρίσκεται στο κέντρο του χωριού, ανάμεσα στα παραδοσιακά σπίτια και αποτελεί ένα από τους δυο ναούς της κοινότητας. Είναι κτισμένος σε ρυθμό βασιλικής επηρεασμένος όμως και από τη γοτθική αρχιτεκτονική. Ο ναός κτίστηκε στα κατάλοιπα μιας παλαιότερης μικρότερης εκκλησίας αφιερωμένης επίσης στην Παναγία. Εδώ βρίσκεται και το εκκλησιαστικό μουσείο με...


Στο κέντρο της παλιάς Λευκωσίας , δίπλα από το Αρχιεπισκοπικό Μέγαρο και απέναντι από το Παγκύπριο Γυμνάσιο, βρίσκεται ο Καθεδρικός Ναός του Αγίου Ιωάννη του Θεολόγου. Ο ναός είναι κτισμένος στο χώρο όπου προγενέστερα υπήρχε μοναστήρι αφιερωμένο στον Άγιο Ιωάννη τον Πίπη. Το προσωνύμιο Πίπης συνδέεται πιθανότατα με την αραβική λέξη habib, που σημαίνει αγαπώ, και εφόσον ο Ιωάννης είναι ο...


Η εκκλησία της Αγίας Μαρίνας βρίσκεται στο κέντρο του ομώνυμου χωριού και αποτελεί τον ενοριακό ναό της κοινότητας. Κτίστηκε το 1959 την ίδια περίοδο δημιουργίας και του χωριού της Αγίας Μαρίνας. Ιστορικά αξίζει να αναφερθεί πως οι κάτοικοι της Αγίας Μαρίνας, μέχρι και το 1952, ζούσαν σε ένα άλλο κοντινό χωριό, επονομαζόμενο Λειβάδι. Κατά την περίοδο της Αγγλοκρατίας , με πρόσχημα την...


Το εξωκλήσι των Οσίων Αρσενίου του Καππαδόκου και Παϊσίου του εν τω Άθω, στην Αγία Νάπα, κτίστηκε προσφάτως με τα εγκαίνια του να τελούνται στις 30 Οκτωβρίου 2015. Πρόκειται για ένα πανέμορφο καμαρόσκεπαστο ξυλοστεγή ναό επενδυμένο εξωτερικά από πέτρα. Εσωτερικά το εξωκλήσι αποτελείται από ένα ξυλόγλυπτο τέμπλο με εικόνες των Αγίων της Ορθοδοξίας.

Ο Άγιος Αρσένιος έζησε μόλις τα τέλη...

Apostle Petros and Pavlos in Fikardou

Η εκκλησία του χωριού είναι αφιερωμένη στους Αποστόλους Πέτρο και Παύλο και χρονολογείται στον 18ο αιώνα. Ο ναός κτίστηκε στα χρόνια της Φραγκοκρατίας κατά τον 15ο αιώνα για να ανακαινιστεί τρεις αιώνες μετά. Η ανακαίνιση δεν φαίνεται να άλλαξε τον αρχιτεκτονικό τύπο του ναού. Πρόκειται για ένα μικρό ξυλοστεγή ναό, σε ρυθμό βασιλικής με επικλινή στέγη, επενδυμένη με ακανόνιστη πέτρα της...

Panagia Chryseleousa  in Athienou

Η εκκλησία της Παναγίας της Χρυσελεούσας στην Αθηένου αποτελεί την κύρια εκκλησία της κοινότητας. Άρχισε να κτίζεται το 1947 για να τελεστεί η πρώτη λειτουργία το 1959, ενώ η αγιογράφηση ολόκληρου του ναού αποπερατώθηκε μόλις το 2012. Πρόκειται για εκκλησία κτισμένη σε ρυθμό βασιλικής με τρούλο. Στον ίδιο χώρο βρίσκεται και μια παλαιότερη εκκλησία, επίσης αφιερωμένης στην Παναγία τη...